Sefton Park

Infant and Junior Schools

Home Page

Sefton Park

Infant and Junior Schools

Home Page

List of Governors

In England, Wales and Northern Ireland, every state school has a governing body, consisting of specified numbers of various categories of governors depending on the type and size of school. Governors are unpaid, but they may be reimbursed for expenses for such as the care of dependants or relatives and travel costs. Under section 50 of the Employment Rights Act 1996] employers must give anyone in their employment who serves as a governor reasonable time off their employ to carry out their governor duties. Employers can decide whether this time off is given with or without pay


There are four types of Governor at the Sefton Park Schools, with one governing body covering the federated schools.  These Governor types are:


  • Parent Governors: parents of children at the school;
  • Staff Governor: members of the school staff;
  • Authority Governors: (previously known as LEA Governors): nominated by the Local Authority; and
  • Co-opted Governors (previously known as Community Governors): members of the local community (appointed by the rest of the governing body).


Governor Name Governor Type Additional Role Date appointed Date stepped down Term of office Committee Membership Declared Interests Percentage of meetings attended in 2020/2021
Alia Ataya-Williams Authority   12/07/2017 9/10/19 3 years CSC None N/a
Andrew Haynes Co-opted   10/12/19   4 years F&R None 0%
Andy Lillie Parent   25/5/2020   4 years   Children in school 100%
Cerys Stevens Parent

Vice chair

Children in Care governor

9/7/2018   4 years CSC Children in school 100%
Dan Simson Staff Head Teacher 29/09/2020    

F & R


Children in school; Employee at school 100%



Co-opted SEND governro 01/12/2018   4 years CSC Child in school n/a
Jan Lonsdale Staff Head Teacher 01/09/2007 August 2020   F&R Family members work at school; Employee at school n/a
Jane Wheelock Co-opted Chair of Curriculum and Standards Committee, Heath and Safety Governor 9/10/2019   4 years CSC Grandchildren in school 100%
Maggie Smithson Co-opted   22/5/2018   4 years CSC Employee at school 100%
Mukesh Solanki Associate         F&R None 0%
Sally Dore Co-opted

Acting Chair

Vice Chair; Chair of Finance and Resources Committee

8/7/2019   4 years F&R Governor at Red Maids' High School, Bristol 100%
Sarah Davidge Clerk to Governors     31/10/2020 n/a   None 0%
Tom Morrison Co-opted   10/12/19   4 years F&R   100%
James Cox  Co-opted   10/12/19 29/9/2020 4 years F&R   n/a
Corrie Bell Co-opted Safeguarding governor 10/2/19   4 years CCS   100%
Madeleine O'Loughlin Staff   22/4/2020   4 years CCS   100%
Carrie Spittlehouse Co-opted   29/9/2020   4 years F&R   100%
Amy Lewis Co-Opted   19/10/2020   4 years   Child at school 100%
Rachel Wills Co-Opted   19/10/2020   4 years   Child at School 100%